Gutland won the “Best international first feature film” award at 30th Galway Film Fleadh

On Sunday 15 July 2018, on the 30th Galway film Fleadh in Ireland, Gutland won the” best international first feature film ” award.

Gutland was Directed by the Luxembourger Govinda van Maele and was produced by Les Films Fauve.

The president of the Galway Film Fleadh, Kate O’Toole, announced the award winners (see below) and the President of Ireland, Michael D Higgins, spoke at the awards ceremony and also presented the Galway Hooker Award to Element Pictures for their services to the film industry in Ireland.
Over the last week, the festival screened 25 features, 16 world premieres and 10 directorial debuts.

Black 47, dirceted by Lance Daly and coproduced by Samsa Film, was screened as closing film after the awards ceremony.
30th Galway Film Fleadh Award Winners:

• James Horgan Award for Best Animation: The Wiremen
• Tiernan McBride Award for best Short Animation: Wren Boys
• Best First Short Animation Award: The Usual
• Best Short Documentary Award: Inhale
• Best International Short Documentary: Juck
• Best International Short Animation: The Driver is Red
• Best International Short Fiction Award: What Happened to Evie
• Best Animated Sequence in a Short Film: The Overcoat
• The Donal Gilligan Award for Best Cinematography in a Short Film: Boy Saint
• Best First Short Fiction Award: Boy Saint
• The Don Quijote Award for Best Animated Short Film: Yunshi
• The Bingham Ray New Talent Award: Jordanne Jones (actor, Metal Heart)
• Best Pitching Award: Don’t Forget Your Dress
• Best Cinematography in an Irish Feature: When All Is Ruin Once Again
• Best Human Rights Feature: Women of Venezuelan Chaos
• Best Irish Feature Documentary: Katie
• Best International Feature: Steel Country
• Best International First Feature: Gutland
• Best International Feature Documentary: Soufra
• Best Irish First Feature: Cellar Door
• Best Irish Feature: The Dig
• The Galway Hooker Award: Ed Guiney & Andrew Lowe (Element Pictures)